Joey & New York

I was going to go to the City for Joey’s performance. Yep, I acted too late…

I admit it; I came to know him like everyone else, i.e. his appearance in the last week’s 60 minutes. As a music ‘consumer,’ I am not ashamed of enjoying watching a young Chinese piano prodigy playing extremely technical pieces by Frederick Chopin in a shiny and tiny dress, exposing too much skin. But Joey is different…

What amazes me about him is that he does not stick out. Many prodigies “stick out” because of exceptional skills in one area, usually technical skills. However, other skills are often rather mediocre. Joey is different; he is a fine jazz pianist all around. He hardly has exceptional techniques; he has a very good sense of music and groove but he is not “divine” like Keith Jarrett is (I admit that Keith is not a good example — I am not that familiar with all jazz pianists but I hope that you understand what I am trying to say).

He is an aged, very fine jazz player like one of the finest “second vin Bordeaux.” He is not Romanée-Conti. But he brings joy to anyone’s life.


Leave a Reply

